Kundalini Yoga

Start | Yoga Knowledge | YOGA PATHS | Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini means name of a form of Shakti, the serpent power.
The Yoga Way works with the astral body and its chakras and nadis.

The chakras are cleaned and opened it and the life energy (prana) in the body increases. The aim is to awaken the spiritual power that lies dormant in the Muladhara chakra, and allow them to ascend along the spine to achieve union with God or Samadhi or Moksha.
The Kundalini Yoga path is divided in other ways:

Mantra Yoga
Nada Yoga
Yantra Yoga
Laya Yoga and
Hatha Yoga: Here, the asanas in Kundalini Yoga are kept very long (up to two hours). Connected with special breathing and concentration techniques, mudras
and special mantras and Bandhas the Kundalini is awakened.

The Kundalini Yoga path is based on the Shiva Shakti philosophy, which is also called Tantra. The Shakti, the divine power of creation is, by means of Kundalini practice in Sahasrara Chakra, united with her husband Shiva, symbolizing the absolute consciousness.

One of the most important writings of Kundalini Yoga path is the Purnanandas Shritattvacintamani containing the sixth chapter, Satcakranirupana, the „mirror of the seven chakras“, the most important consideration for Kundalini Yoga. The Kundalini tradition emerged from Hinduism, but also influenced the Sikhism, Jainism, Sufism and Tibetan Buddhism.